Our Credo
We are committed to playing our full part in advancing tourism, helping to create a peaceful and richly satisfying society by bringing together people of different regions and nations.
NAGASAKI HIGHLIGHTS Print E-mail
nagasaki-peace-statue-lSurrounded on three sides by mountains, the capital of Nagasaki Prefecture sits facing westward at the end of a beautiful five-kilometer long bay. Most of Nagasaki's major sights are accessible on foot or by means of the city's excellent and reasonably-priced streetcar system.

Oura Tenshu-do (Oura Catholic Church).
The oldest Christian church in Japan
and a designated National Treasure, Oura Tenshu-do was built in 1864 to serve Nagasaki's foreign community.Soon after its completion, a group of Japanese visited and identified themselves as kakure-kurishitan, "Christians-in-hiding," who had been secretly practicing their faith in nearby Urakami for almost 250 years.

sapphire-princess-nagasaki-Glover Park.
A ten-minute walk from Oura Church is Graba-en (Glover Park,) the home of several Meiji-period Western residences. Foremost among them is Glover House, built by Scotsman Thomas Glover in 1863. Also in the park are the Alt House and Ringer House. The park also affords a fine view of Nagasaki's stunning harbor.

Nijuroku Seijin Junkyochi
(μνημείο είκοσι έξι μαρτύρων).
Τοποθετημένο μπροστά από το σταθμό JR Ναγκασάκι, αυτό το μνημείο αποτίνει φόρο τιμής στους είκοσι έξι Χριστιανούς από το Ναγκασάκι του 1596.

Oranda Zaka ("Holland Hill")
. Nagasaki's most picturesque and famous stone-paved slope. Also known as Dutch Slope, it is often reproduced in tourist brochures.

Dejima Shiryokan. This museum houses relics of the Dutch presence in Nagasaki. As well as a 1/15 scale model of Dejima, the tiny artificial island to which Dutch traders were confined.

Kofuku-ji. The oldest Obaku Zen sect temple in Japan, Kofuku-ji was founded in 1620 and patronized by Nanjing Chinese. The main hall, or Daiyuho-den, was rebuilt in 1893 by carpenters from southern China.   

megane-bashi-nagasakiMegane-bashi (Spectacles Bridge). A double-arched bridge built in 1634, Megane-bashi is the oldest foreign-style stone bridge in Japan. The arches combined with their reflections in the water account for the bridge's nickname.   

Koshi-byo (Confucian Temple). Founded in 1893, this Confucian temple is home to a new museum, the Chugoku Rekidai Hakubutsukan (Chinese History Museum) which exhibits objects on loan from the Chinese National History

Museum in Beijing.
Shinchimachi. Nagasaki's Chinatown, Shinchimachi has been a center for Nagasaki's Chinese residents since 1698. Today many Chinese restaurants can be found here.

shinchimachi-nagasakiHeiwa Koen (Peace Park). At 11:02 am on August 9, 1945, the Nagasaki bomb, missing its intended target of the Mitsubishi Shipyards, exploded over Urakami. Nearly 150,000 people were killed by the blast and its after-effects. A black stone column marks the blast's epicenter, while the 9.7 meter-tall Peace Statue, his right arm pointing to heaven and his left arm stretching out over the ground, warns of the menace of nuclear weapons and eloquently pleas for peace. The park is also the home of the recently opened Atomic Bomb Museum, a corner of which contains permanent exhibitions documenting the destruction wrought by the August 9th explosion. The museum also has a library, video room, and lecture hall to help educate about the devastating effects of nuclear war.

Urakami Tenshu-do.
Completed in 1925, this cathedral was built to serve Urakami's large Christian community. It was destroyed by the bomb and rebuilt in 1958. Headless, blackened stone statues of saints line the path to the church.
 
jr-pass
tumlare-logo
GreekEnglish